Mayfields of South Carolina

Home Background Essays Biographies Special Reports Census Reports SC Counties


South Carolina County Records Re the Mayfields

The 1790 Federal Census Report identified 25 Mayfield households in six South Carolina counties:  Chester, Fairfield, Greenville, Pendleton, Union and York.  By 1800, several Mayfield families were living in Spartanburg County as well.  The extant county records pertaining to the Mayfield families in three of these seven counties, prior to the year 1850, are accessible from the following links:

Mayfields of Pendleton

Mayfields of York

Mayfields of Union


Political Boundaries of Post Revolutionary War South Carolina (1785-1791)

In 1785, the State of South Carolina laid out counties in each of the then existing Judicial Districts  (districts established in 1769),  and authorized them to keep deed records and other official documents which had previously only been kept in Charleston.   A map of the South Carolina county and district court boundaries, during the period 1786-1791, is shown below.  Greenville County, established in 1786, and Pendleton County, established in 1789, (shaded areas) were formed from lands ceded by the Cherokees in 1777.